Armorial

I literally found a random word generator and refreshed until I found a decent word for the title. Its meaning has no bearing on anything I’m about to say, at least not consciously.

Interesting thing I’ve noticed as of late: Where most people I see have problems with their T side, I consciously have trouble with my F side. Yes, I will explain this slightly, I’m not that mean. These letters come from the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. Short and simple, T is logic, and F is emotions. Whichever someone is is the primary guide in their decision making process. You can be in between, but that’s unimportant for what I want to say.

Back to the original point: My sister, an F, often (read: more than I would) worries irrationally about things in her life. As I have heavily implied, it makes little (I restrained from saying ‘no’) sense to me, as what she is worrying about does not follow from who she is (worrying people won’t like her) or what she’s going to do (being, from my perspective, absurdly nervous when visiting the college that by all signs was a perfect fit for her). I have also observed this tendency in several of my other family members and close friends.

I, on the other hand, as a T, hardly ever worry. I know, shocking, I actually do worry sometimes. However, the worry I have relates not to that which is logical in my life, but that which is emotional (so far only manifesting in a single form, and I don’t know of any others that it might manifest as, so I’m doing pretty well). Trying to use logic on it doesn’t work as well as I would hope for being the ‘logical one.’ Instead, I often use my logic selectively in these situations, excepting the arguments for the side my emotions want to win, rather than the side that is actually the best side.

Oh, good for me, I managed to do that without giving any details from my own life. This blogging will go well if that keeps up. Anyway, that was something that has been on my mind lately, and it was fairly easy to write.

Leave a Reply

